Applied Art and Design GCSE Woodcarving Brief


Initial Ideas
Initial Ideas

I am really looking forward to starting work at a secondary school in September. Scanning the Key stage three and the GCSE Applied Art and Design schemes of work I can’t wait to get stuck in as I think the projects give us (thats me and the students) plenty to get our teeth into in terms of skills, knowledge and understanding.

In preparation for September I am going to try and put together lots of relevant resources and have a go at completing some of the projects myself.

As I have only done woodcarving in relation to block printing (At Northern Print) I have picked this design brief to get started

Summerhill Activities Centre has asked for some designs and ideas for a carved wooden sculpture to be set in the woodland areas to enhance the landscape and environment…”

The first page of my ‘digital sketchbook’ was created in Adobe Photoshop Elements but the initial ideas were completed using HB pencil on A4 paper.

Leave a Reply

