“Don’t Let the Media have a Monopoly on the Freedom of Speech” part 2


Before you read this post… look at Ben’s blog.

This was my second visual response to the phrase “Don’t Let the Media have a Monopoly on the Freedom of Speech”. On reflection I find the black banner across the top and the red Shh are distracting from what is a really striking photograph…

I much prefer my second version of the same piece (even though with the new Batman film it does make me think of the Joker- perhaps the mask colour should be something other than white). To see more of my mask images visit my Flickr pages.

The mask images were a result of a conversation I had with Topsy Grewlike about photography and meaning. We were discussing ideas that a photograph presents and conceals.

I believe photography cannot present ‘truth’ or reveal anything profound… just perhaps as any purely image based artwork cannot do so. I think this mirrors the way we as people present ourselves.

Leave a Reply

