A New Collection of Drawings ‘Sun Signs’


I’m in the process of producing a range of pen drawings that represent the Zodiac sun signs. The sun signs are determined by a persons birthday… I think whether you are a firm believer or whether you just think it’s rubbish it can be hard to resist the temptation to read your horoscope in a newspaper or magazine. Now with applications appearing on Facebook you can have your daily horoscope delivered direct to you feed.

  • Aries – March 21 – April 20
  • Taurus – April 21 – May 21
  • Gemini – May 22 – June 21
  • Cancer – June 22 – July 22
  • Leo – July 23 -August 21
  • Virgo – August 22 – September 23
  • Libra – September 24 – October 23
  • Scorpio – October 24 – November 22
  • Sagittarius – November 23 – December 22
  • Capricorn – December 23 – January 20
  • Aquarius – January 21 – February 19
  • Pisces – February 20- March 20

These images will be made into a range of cards and artists prints.

Whist my original designs are quite linear I’m also going to experiment with variations on a theme using watercolour, acrylic magic colour and Photoshop.

I’ll keep you posted on their development.

Capricorn
"Capricorn" Elizabeth Kane (2010) pen on paper

I’m quite satisfied with “Capricorn” I love the scrubby hillside grass and the goat’s sleek hair.

Pisces
"Pisces" Elizabeth Kane (2010) Pen on paper

“Pisces” is one of my favourite drawings in the ‘Sun Signs’ collection because I love drawing fish. I thinks this is because you can suggest so much movement with careful composition of their fins.

Cancer
"Cancer" Elizabeth Kane (2010) Pen on paper

This “Cancer” drawing is based on a swimming crab. I think his flippers are so cute! As this drawing was on a scientific photograph it reminds me of Geoff Thompson‘s amazing entomological illustrations, I love introducing his work to others because it is breathtaking.

Virgo the Virgin
"Virgo the Virgin" by Elizabeth Kane (2010) Pen on paper

When I was drawing “Virgo” my sun sign I was thinking about the beautiful women in pre-Raphaelite paintings and the the artist Alphonase Mucha.

Leave a Reply

