Developing the new Planetary Collection for Next Weekend


Completing my astrological ‘sun sign’ collection of images has made me think about our belief systems. Some evangelical believer denounces aspects of science they find do not fit with their faith conversely prominent scientists, who base their work on proofs, are not all atheists or agnostic. This puts my work in context of my current interest in the world around us and humans interaction with it and understanding of it

I decided to make some images of the earth and other planetary bodies. One of my favourite photographers is Bernhard Edmaier and I started to tentatively experiment with painterly aerial views losely based on his images.

I’ve used soaked and stretched 300g/m2 Daler Rowney Aquafine Watercolour paper as my support then applied layers of Speedry Magic Color (liquid acrylic) and watercolour paints. I digitally photographed my work then cropped sections and edited them using Adobe Photoshop Elements.

These are the 6 compositions I have resolved today but I am sure I’ll be able to produce more tomorrow. These prints are 10 by 15 cm printed on Canon Photo Plus Glossy paper using genuine Canon ink cartridges.

Purple and Yellow Cove (2010) Elizabeth Kane
Purple and Yellow Cove (2010) Elizabeth Kane

‘Purple and Yellow Cove’ above is a tall thin composition. It depicts a tranquil blue purple sea receding from a warm yellow beach. Incised lines in the acrylic paint hint at the topography of the beach. I am really pleased with this piece as I think it works as an aerial view or as an abstract piece in its own right.

Solar (2010) Elizabeth Kane
Solar (2010) Elizabeth Kane

‘Solar’ is slightly more stylized than the other paintings in this collection. Thinking of how children draw the sun it features strong rays leading out from the focal point the bright yellow sun. I am pleased with the tonal contrast in this print (the contrast with the light and dark areas).

Surface Tension (2010) Elizabeth Kane
Surface Tension (2010) Elizabeth Kane

‘Surface Tension’ is a colourful yet subtle piece of work. The ripples that run almost vertically across the centre of the piece were created by painting another piece of Daler Rowney Aquafine Watercolour paper with a beautiful flesh coloured acrylic paint. I gently pressed this piece onto the original painting when it was still damp. The rough texture to the paper meant that it lightly adhered to the surface. Its definitely one you have to see in the flesh for want of a better expression!

Aerial View of Earth (2010) Elizabeth Kane
Aerial View of Earth (2010) Elizabeth Kane

‘Aerial View of Earth’ is the most straightforward artistic translations of an aerial photograph. I’m pleased with the vivacity of the the colours.

Dust Storm Fracture (2010) Elizabeth Kane
Dust Storm Fracture (2010) Elizabeth Kane

‘Dust Storm Fracture’ shows a plume of reddish earth travelling either towards or away from the viewer it is hard to tell. It reminds me of sci-fi films like the mind blowing Dune.

Mars Abstract (2010) Elizabeth Kane
Mars Abstract (2010) Elizabeth Kane

‘Mars Abstract’ is the most heavily Photoshoped of the images in the Planetary Collection. There is something pleasing about the sense of repetition and pattern in the work but I’m not entirely sure about the work. Its completed to a very high standard but its not to my personal taste. Still I’m bringing it to Tynemouth and would love you to take a look and give me some feedback.

Leave a Reply

