Am I massively overvaluing image making and creativity in today’s visually saturated world?


Hallmark is running a competition. The opportunity was signposted by my wonderful friend Hannah (and fellow artist) who sends me lots of exciting information about all things art and card related. At first I was like yep yep yep must enter.

Now I’ve been to their website and it says $250 dollars if you win and a further $250 dollars if the card is sold in shops (Its the US division although sure there will be a UK version out there).

Do you think that’s right?

Is a further $250 for a card design Hallmark obviously hope to make a lot from (or why would you produce it commercially) the industry standard for designers? I just wonder if Hallmark is undervaluing creativity and undermining its own stable of designers. It’s an interesting idea but is it fair?

$250 to a self employed artist is a considerable amount and obviously if you won you’d get a bit of kudos but think this is a win-win thing for Hallmark, a way of getting a lot of great ideas for not very much investment.

I wonder if I am I massively overvaluing image making and creativity in today’s visually saturated world? I don’t have a graphic design background and wonder what a professional would charge Hallmark?

I’m not sure about this one but have come to the conculsion I won’t be entering but if you’re interested visit http://www.hallmarkcontests.com/

This is not a card (2010) E Kane © Digital doodle in Photoshop Elements
This is not a card (2010) E Kane © Digital doodle in Photoshop Elements

By the way Hannah don’t stop sending me stuff I really appreciate it… this one got me thinking xXx

Leave a Reply

