Commissioned Pet and People Portraits New Prices from 1st January 2011


From January 2011 I will have a new price structure for a digital commission of a pet or person portrait. To understand my new prices please read on…

A conservative estimate for a commission is 1-2 days. The suggested day rate for an artist of my experience is £193 (Artist Newsletter 2011 (http://www.an.co.uk/knowledge_bank/document/381668)).

I have set my digital pet/people portrait price at £50 for this the client receives a bespoke artwork (an A4 signed one of print with mount) and liaises with the artist at the draft stage about any preferred changes (within reason).

Typically I will ask for a non-retunable deposit of 25% of the price of each print commissioned (£12.50 per print).

If you want to commission a portrait of your pet here’s the process:

  • get in touch by email (Elizabeth _ Kane 81 @ hotmail . com) no spaces!
  • Pay a non-returnable deposit of £12.50 per print you wish to commission (by cash, cheque or bank transfer).
  • Message me and send a high quality photograph .
  • Ill make a line drawing from the photograph then add colour and texture using Adobe Photoshop Elements.
  • I’ll send you a draft image. You approve the artwork and I’ll print it on photo paper using real Canon inks.
  • Once the print is dry and the funds are in my account I’ll send the print by recorded delivery sandwiched between 2 sheets of grey-board in an A4 cello-bag or you can make arrangements to collect the print.

The artist (that’s me) retains the copyright to use this image on a greetings card but will not sell another print although may exhibit the artists proof of the work (the only other print of your commission in existence).

If you would prefer your pet not to feature on a card then let me know and Ill give you the ‘one off’ price.

5 thoughts on “Commissioned Pet and People Portraits New Prices from 1st January 2011

  1. Town Mouse says:

    All I can say is that, having commissioned portraits at Elizabeth’s previous rates, the new rate of £50 is not only much more realistic but extremely reasonable. She does a wonderful job and liaises with you throughout the process. I enjoy looking at her other work here on her blog, and look forward to visiting the Spring Art Fair at the Sanctuary Artspace in Gateshead on (or is it from?) 9 April.

    1. elizabethkane says:

      Thanks Betsy.

      Yes the Spring Art Fair is a one day only event.

      I’ve been working on some new paintings and mixed media pieces and I’m very excited but a bit nervous too because I seem to spend most of my time working on small drawings or digital work on the PC. It’s been a challenge to get into the swing of using more traditional art media again although I hope they still reflect my interests in line, colour and mark making.

      Looking forward to seeing you it should be a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

